Sushi!

I used to love sushi.  I love using chopsticks, I LOVE pickled ginger (I usually ate all of it and no, I didn’t feel guilty), and yam rolls make me lose my mind.  So, when I decided to chuck rice out of my diet, the only thing I really moped about losing was sushi.  I’ve never really liked rice as a side dish, but it’s kind of necessary for sushi, ya know?  I know that some paleo people eat white rice occasionally as it is a pretty safe starch as far as they go (here is a good description of why from Paul Jaminet of the Perfect Health Diet), but for me, I just don’t dig it.  Now when I go out for sushi, I usually eat a bunch of sashimi and whatever that seaweed salad is called (god, I love it).

The other day, however, I bought some nori papers because I wanted to make these (which are amazing by the way).  I had a bunch of papers left over, so I decided to use some random stuff in my fridge and make sushi.  I think I used garlic roast beef, avocado, red pepper, and cucumber at that time.  Without the rice to make the nori paper damp and stick together properly, it was a bit funky, so I used a basting brush to spread some water on there and it seemed to work pretty well.  I was pleasantly surprised that it worked out, I wasn’t really sure what to expect.  Even my boyfriend commented that it looked pretty good (but immediately followed up with “I don’t want to eat it, though”).

Today I have lox, avocado, and cucumber sushi for lunch.  I love it when I’m excited to eat my lunch!  The picture I took doesn’t really make them look as appetizing as they really are (I swear!).

2 responses to “Sushi!

Leave a comment